MOVING DAY: The trip to SF is finally possible

I want to apologize for my lack of posts this month, the last few weeks of May were definitely a struggle for me to handle.

After I received notice about the TechCrunch internship, I immediately began searching for an apartment in SF. I had no idea I was about to embark on what seemed like an ENDLESS journey. I think I emailed about 400 people on craigslist, and other sites I found, about their listings. One piece of advice to anyone seeking housing in SF right now: be aggressive.

The amount of interns that are flooding into SF has sky rocketed over the past year. SF is now one of the most expensive cities to live in! I thought finding something in NY would be bad… but I am almost positive SF now parallels NY’s housing hunt.

Initially, I was going to live with 2 other people. My friend, Gil, who works at Quixley and his friend, Omer, who interns for 4square.

That plan kind of blew up in our faces. We were so excited about this adorable Victorian house we found on Trulia, the owner told me that she would hold the house for my viewing and to come visit around 9 am the following morning. So, Gil and I took the time to drive from Davis, CA to SF, CA only to discover she already gave the listing away.. I’m sure you can imagine how aggravated I was!

Anyway, I did end up learning about a few useful sites. Sites that you may find helpful in your search for a new place!

Place of Mine

Trulia

Airbnb

Home Away 

Roomster

Craigslist (don’t be scared to use this!)

Not only was the search difficult, the packing and actual move [happening today!] have been stressful as well.

I am definitely a pack rat, or WAS one. I have collected so many things over the past 4 years, I found a lot of fond memories under my bed. However, I’m moving into a small studio in Noe Valley.. I couldn’t even dream of bringing half of my things. I needed to get rid of my high school sweatshirts, to sell most of my furniture and to get plastic boxes to pack my belongings.

Try selling your things on Craigslist before doing anything else. I recommend using this site because people interested in your listings are responsible for contacting you, and arriving at your house with the proper moving supplies. You don’t have to worry about shipping fees or packing problems.

If this doesn’t work for you, try joining your college/university’s facebook group pages. At UC Davis, for example, there is a facebook group for UCD students called “Free & For Sale”. I sold countless objects through my posts on this facebook wall. I also felt comfortable knowing that the people taking my things are students at school (rather than a random person on Craigslist).

How to get rid of your things? There are lots of ways to do it, but I would suggest using 1-800-JUNK. They move all your junk from your room to their car and distribute your junk to appropriate charities (if possible) and the dump. All you have to do is call them up and get a free quote.

The only issue I am still dealing with is transferring my bed and mirror into proper storage for the summer. I tried using the UHAUL site and booking movers online but it’s been extremely indirect and confusing.

If you have any suggestions for another company I should call, please comment below. I could really use the help.

Can’t wait to find out what my job is going to be like! I’ll make sure to update!

Leave a Reply

